The Ministry of Water & Irrigation is responsible for policy formulation to create an enabling environment for efficient operation and growth of the sector. It sets the strategic direction and provides a long term vision for all institutions in the sector.

NYEWASCO has signed a SPA with Tana Water Services Board (TWSB) as provided for by the Water Act 2002. The company’s broad mandate is to provide water and sewerage services to the residents of the Nyeri Sub-County and its environs. In order to fulfill her mandate, NYEWASCO works closely in partnership with other institutions in the sector.

Some of the institutions that partner with NYEWASCO in the water sector include; Water Services Regulatory Board (WASREB) that exercises national regulatory powers, Tana Water Service Board (TWSB) and/or its assignee/successor and also the licensee for the board area and has signed Service Provision Agreement (SPA) with NYEWASCO, Water Resource Management Authority (WARMA) which has the authority to manage the catchment areas and sources of water. WARMA authorizes abstraction of water from the catchment areas and water sources. Water Services Trust Fund (WSTF) mobilizes grants and cheap finances for the water companies mainly on pro-poor areas, Water Appeals Board (WAB) with mandate of dispute resolution relating to water issues.

Nyewasco Administrative Region